Packing Tips

Packing for LA this time around, I’ve realized that I had become a lot faster at packing and that my suitcase was far less jammed than it had been the last time I went to LA. I guess I did learn a thing or two from my weekend travels around Europe for five months. Here are some of my tips and tricks around packing:

WhatsApp Image 2017-07-17 at 10.32.50 PM

BEAUTY

  • Whenever you stay at a hotel, take the complimentary mini shampoo bottles home. You can use them for your next trip, since the containers are travel size. Even if you don’t like the hotel’s shampoo, keep the containers to refill with your own shampoo for your next trip.
  • Don’t risk bringing any products that are over 100 ml. Even if a 200ml bottle of face cream is half empty, it’s the bottle size that matters, not the actual content. You can buy empty travel-size containers at the dollar store.

 

CLOTHES

  • Opt to do laundry rather than to overpack, especially if you are backpacking. If you plan to stay at an Airbnb, always filter to look for accommodations with a washing (and drying) machine. Otherwise, paying for laundry at the hostel/hotel or even finding a laundry facility outside is better than overpacking, especially if you are backpacking.
  • For girls, pack more skirts than dresses; skirts tend to be more versatile and can be worn in different ways.

 

GENERAL

  • Keep a list on your phone of the things you must remember to pack. A few days prior to my trip, I’m always randomly remembering to bring certain items, and I always jot it down on my list on my phone so I don’t forget. If you have items that you can’t pack until the morning of (e.g. toothbrush, phone charger), also make a separate list of them to check before you leave the house on the day of your departure.

 

MUST-PACK’S

  • If anything, remember to bring your passport, phone, and wallet.
  • Bring snacks for the airport/airplane so you don’t feel tempted to buy the their overpriced goods.
  • Earplugs are so key, especially if there are any crying babies on the aircraft.
  • Eye masks or Sunglasses are also great for creating your own “nighttime” on the plane if you want to take a nap.

Leave a Reply

